top of page

Alex Bowman Steals The Show And Wins NASCAR Cup Series Xfinity 500 At Martinsville Speedway

With just a handful of laps remaining in the final race before the season finale in Phoenix, Alex Bowman made his move and spun Denny Hamlin to take the lead.

Hamlin was leading the race when Bowman slid up the track trying to make a race-winning pass. Hamlin went sliding into the wall and caused a late-race caution. Bowman then held off Kyle Busch and Brad Keselowski on a two-lap restart for his first win at Martinsville.

“I just got loose in,” Bowman said. “I got in too deep, knocked him out of the way and literally let him have the lead back, so for anybody that wants to think I was trying to crash him, that obviously wasn’t the case considering I literally gave up the lead at Martinsville to give it back to him. He’s been on the other side of that. He’s crashed guys here for wins. I hate doing it. Obviously, I don’t want to crash somebody and I just got loose underneath and spun him out.”

Hamlin seemed to have a different opinion.

“He’s just a hack,” Hamlin said. “He’s just an absolute hack. He gets his ass kicked every week by his teammates every week. He’s fucking terrible. He’s just terrible. He sees one opportunity and he takes it, but obviously, he’s got the fastest car every week and he runs 10th. He didn’t want to race us there. We had a good, clean race. I moved up as high as I could on the race track to give him all the room I could and he still can’t drive.”

The four drivers who will race for the championship in Phoenix are Kyle Larson, Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin and Martin Truex Jr.

Final Results:

  1. Alex Bowman

  2. Kyle Busch

  3. Brad Keselowski

  4. Martin Truex Jr.

  5. William Byron

  6. Aric Almirola

  7. Kurt Busch

  8. Erik Jones

  9. Chris Buescher

  10. Joey Logano

  11. Ryan Blaney

  12. Kevin Harvick

  13. Austin Dillon

  14. Kyle Larson

  15. Matt DiBenedetto

  16. Chase Elliott

  17. Christopher Bell

  18. Tyler Reddick

  19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

  20. Anthony Alfredo

  21. Corey LaJoie

  22. Chase Briscoe

  23. Cole Custer

  24. Denny Hamlin

  25. Bubba Wallace

  26. Michael McDowell

  27. Ross Chastain

  28. Daniel Suarez

  29. BJ McLeod

  30. Cody Ware

  31. Justin Haley

  32. Ryan Newman

  33. Garrett Smithley

  34. Quin Houff

  35. Josh Bilicki

  36. Ryan Preece

  37. Timmy Hill

  38. Joey Gase

Check out the recap by Chris Estrada from NBC

Fred Smith from Road & Track shares his take:

#NASCAR / #NASCARPlayoffs / #Xfinity500

bottom of page