top of page

Alex Palou Takes NTT IndyCar Series Point Lead With 3rd Season Victory In The Portland Grand Prix

Chip Ganassi Racing may have a new method to start off races with disaster to end up in victory lane. Palou was one of two Ganassi cars to go off track while battling for the lead into turn 1. Teammate Scott Dixon dove to the inside from third on the start and looked ready to take the position when Arrow McLaren SP's Felix Rosenqvist came in hot and tapped the left-rear tire of Palou. Rosenqvist went hard into the runoff area, while Dixon and Palou's respective recoveries left both Chip Ganassi Racing team cars in the turn 1 runoff as a yellow came out for other spins further back in the field.

They recovered well with Palou taking the win and Dixon coming come in third.

“I can only believe it that we found our way to victory,” said Palou. “I don’t care that much we have the championship points lead. I would just be trying to win the race. I did that today!”

“I did not know what had happened behind me at the start, until I felt followers ramming into the back of me,” Palou said. “Until I noticed it was my teammates.”

Final Results:

  1. Alex Palou

  2. Alexander Rossi

  3. Scott Dixon

  4. Jack Harvey

  5. Josef Newgarden

  6. Felix Rosenqvist

  7. Marcus Ericsson

  8. Colton Herta

  9. Scott McLaughlin

  10. Graham Rahal

  11. Ed Jones

  12. Takuma Sato

  13. Will Power

  14. Pato O'Ward

  15. Ryan Hunter-Reay

  16. Conor Daly

  17. Rinus VeeKay

  18. Sebastien Bourdais

  19. Max Chilton

  20. Jimmie Johnson

  21. Simon Pagenaud

  22. Romain Grosjean

  23. Helio Castroneves

  24. Oliver Askew

  25. Callum Ilott

  26. Dalton Kellett

  27. James Hinchcliffe

Check out the recap by Nate Ryan at NBC Sports:

Paul Kelly provides a recap from the mother ship:


bottom of page