top of page

Austin Cindric Wins The Daytona 500

In only his 8th career NASCAR Cup Series start, Austin Cindric, a 23-year-old rookie who drives for Roger Penske held off a hard-charging Ryan Blaney, Bubba Wallace & Chase Briscoe at the finish line to claim the checkered flag at the Daytona 500.

A two-lap shootout would stage the finish after Ricky Stenhouse Jr. crashed after getting strong contact from Brad Keselowski at the exit of Turn 4, turning his No. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet. Bubba Wallace was hit by Stenhouse during the crash, obtaining damage to the right-front of the No. 23 23XI Racing Toyota.

On the final restart, Cindric blocked teammate Ryan Blaney on the outside out of Turn 4 coming to the checkered flag. Blaney made contact with Cindric and went into the outside wall, allowing Cindric to slightly edge ahead of Bubba Wallace and earning his first career Cup Series victory in the Great American Race.

“What makes it all better is a packed house at the Daytona 500,” Cindric told Fox Sports reporter Jamie Little. “I’ve got so many people to thank. First of foremost, Roger Penske. Happy birthday! Oh my gosh. I appreciate Ryan being a great teammate, I know he wants to win this one.”

Daytona 500 Results:

  1. Austin Cindric

  2. Bubba Wallace

  3. Chase Briscoe

  4. Ryan Blaney

  5. Aric Almirola

  6. Kyle Busch

  7. Michael McDowell

  8. David Ragan

  9. Brad Keselowski

  10. Chase Elliott

  11. Ty Dillon

  12. Daniel Hemric

  13. Martin Truex Jr.

  14. Corey LaJoie

  15. Landon Cassill

  16. Chris Buescher

  17. Cody Ware

  18. Daniel Suarez

  19. Kurt Busch

  20. Cole Custer

  21. Joey Logano

  22. Jacques Villeneuve

  23. Justin Haley

  24. Alex Bowman

  25. Austin Dillon

  26. Kaz Grala

  27. BJ McLeod

  28. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

  29. Erik Jones

  30. Kevin Harvick

  31. Noah Gragson

  32. Kyle Larson

  33. Todd Gilliland

  34. Christopher Bell

  35. Tyler Reddick

  36. Greg Biffle

  37. Denny Hamlin

  38. William Byron Jr.

  39. Harrison Burton

  40. Ross Chastain

For more information about the NASCAR Cup Series:


bottom of page