top of page

Brandon Brown Wins Darkness Shortened NASCAR Xfinity Series Sparks 300 At Talladega Superspeedway

For the second time of the afternoon, Talladega produced another first time NASCAR winner, this time in the Xfinity Series with Brandon Brown.

On lap 102 of the scheduled 113, a multi-car wreck occurred when Harrison Burton and Brett Moffitt mixed it up and collected John Hunter Nemechek and Riley Herbst. With the threat of rain and darkness looming, NASCAR made the call and Brown was the leader at the last scoring loop just ahead of Brandon Jones and Justin Allgaier.

While they tried to clean the track so the race could get restarted, NASCAR called the event after lap 107 providing Brown his first career win in the series.

“Oh my God, Oh my God,” Brown said over the radio after taking the checkered flag. “Wow. Just wow. Oh my God. This is a dream come true. This is a dream come true.”

After getting out of the car he was still excited!

“Oh my God, this is a dream come true,” Brown said. “Winning at Talladega. Oh my God, Dad, we did it, let’s go! This is just everything we’ve hoped and dreamed for. Everything I’ve ever wanted to do is take the trophy home to mom and dad. Thank you to all of our partners. Oh my God, this is just so unbelievable."

“Everything shifted top to bottom so much and we just kind of hoped for the best," Brown added. "We saw our moment and we seized it. I’m so proud of everyone at Brandonbilt Motorsports and everyone who’s worked on our team. We did it. We did it. We did it.”

Final Results:

  1. Brandon Brown

  2. Brandon Jones

  3. Justin Allgaier

  4. Daniel Hemric

  5. Jordan Anderson

  6. Justin Haley

  7. Jeb Burton

  8. Austin Cindric

  9. Josh Berry

  10. Joe Graf Jr.

  11. Ryan Sieg

  12. Jade Buford

  13. Blaine Perkins

  14. Josh Williams

  15. Joey Gase

  16. J.J. Yeley

  17. Santino Ferrucci

  18. Tommy Joe Martins

  19. Garrett Smithley

  20. Kyle Weatherman

  21. Alex Labbe

  22. John Hunter Nemechek

  23. Matt Mills

  24. Jeremy Clements

  25. Harrison Burton

  26. Brett Moffitt

  27. Riley Herbst

  28. Jason White

  29. Jeffrey Earnhardt

  30. Noah Gragson

  31. Myatt Snider

  32. Caesar Bacarella

  33. Ryan Vargas

  34. C.J. McLaughlin

  35. Mason Massey

  36. Bayley Currey

  37. Landon Cassill

  38. Sam Mayer

  39. AJ Allmendinger

  40. David Starr

Check out the recap by Dustin Long at NBC Sports:

Check out the coverage at

Jenna Fryer gives her take for the AP:


bottom of page