top of page

Denny Hamlin Wins The Toyota Owners 400 At Richmond Raceway For First Win Of 2022

Denny Hamlin surged to the lead with five laps to go in Sunday‘s NASCAR Cup Series race at Richmond Raceway and held on to capture his first victory of the 2022 season.

The No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota had to pass William Byron‘s No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet, which was on a 71-lap lead run, to secure the Toyota Owners 400 checkered flag. The victory marked Hamlin‘s fourth at the 0.75-mile track in Virginia, his home state, and his 47th overall in his NASCAR Cup Series career.

"Just great strategy there and just drove as hard as I could," Hamlin told Fox's Jamie Little after the race. "So proud of this whole FedEx Camry team. Just never giving up. I mean there was no doubt in my mind, maybe just a little, but they got this car right there towards the end and wow, just unbelievable."

Kevin Harvick ultimately pulled through to finish second by 0.552 seconds. Byron dropped to third after 122 total laps led, the second-highest mark. Martin Truex Jr. and Kyle Larson rounded out the top five.

Christopher Bell, Ryan Blaney, Alex Bowman, Kyle Busch and Austin Dillon completed the top-10 finishing order.

Blaney‘s No. 12 Team Penske Ford led the field to green from the pole position and held the front spot all the way through until Lap 129 — the longest leading run. That included a Stage 1 win on Lap 70, marking his third stage victory of 2022. Truex Jr.‘s No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota captured Stage 2 on Lap 230, also his third stage win this year.

See the recap by Edward Sutelan at Sporting News:

Gary Gastelu from Fox News:

Check it out from

Toyota Owners 400 Results:

1. Denny Hamlin

2. Kevin Harvick

3. William Byron

4. Martin Truex Jr

5. Kyle Larson

6. Christopher Bell

7. Ryan Blaney

8. Alex Bowman

9. Kyle Busch

10. Austin Dillon

11. Chase Briscoe

12. Tyler Reddick

13. Brad Keselowski

14. Chase Elliott

15. Chris Buescher

16. Daniel Suarez

17. Joey Logano

18. Harrison Burton

19. Ross Chastain

20. Austin Cindric

21. Aric Almirola

22. Cole Custer

23. Erik Jones

24. Ty Dillon

25. Todd Gilliland

26. Bubba Wallace

27. AJ Allmendinger

28. Ricky Stenhouse Jr

29. Justin Haley

30. Michael McDowell

31. Corey LaJoie

32. Landon Cassill

33. JJ Yeley

34. BJ McLeod

35. Kurt Busch

36. Cody Ware

37. Greg Biffle

bottom of page