top of page

Josef Newgarden Wins Bommarito Automotive Group 500 IndyCar Series Race At WWT Raceway

Josef Newgarden earned his second victory of the season by winning the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 presented by Axalta and Valvoline on Saturday night at World Wide Technology Raceway in a race that shuffled the deck of the NTT IndyCar Series championship race.

“I couldn’t ask for much more,” Newgarden said. “Everyone did a great job. I’m thrilled. We’ve got to keep going. We know this is going to be a climb, but this goes a long way tonight.

“Any win is important for the year. Wish we had a couple more to this point and were in a different position, but we’ve always got to fight with where we’re at and what we’ve got in our hands.”

Newgarden drove his No. 2 Sonsio Team Penske Chevrolet to victory by .5397 of a second over Pato O’Ward’s No. 5 Arrow McLaren SP. O’Ward didn’t enter Victory Lane, but he was a big winner of the night by taking the championship points lead.

World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway, Madison, IL

Bommarito Automotive Group 500 Final Results:

  1.    Josef Newgarden

  2.    Patricio O'Ward

  3.    Will Power

  4.    Scott McLaughlin

  5.    Sebastien Bourdais

  6.    Takuma Sato

  7.    Ryan Hunter-Reay

  8.    Simon Pagenaud

  9.    Marcus Ericsson

  10.    Jack Harvey

  11.    Conor Daly

  12.    Dalton Kellett

  13.    Tony Kanaan

  14.    Romain Grosjean

  15.    James Hinchcliffe

  16.    Felix Rosenqvist

  17.    Alexander Rossi

  18.    Colton Herta

  19.    Scott Dixon

  20.    Alex Palou

  21.    Rinus VeeKay

  22.    Ed Carpenter

  23.    Graham Rahal

  24.    Ed Jones

Paul Kelly provided a full race recap at

RJ O'Connell shared his perspective:

Check out a video recap:


bottom of page