top of page

Lance Dewease victorious in ASCoC Doug Esh Tribute at Williams Grove, takes home check for $10,000

From Tyler Altmeyer | Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1

Lance Dewease victorious in Williams Grove’s Doug Esh Tribute worth $10,000

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. (May 26, 2023) - National Sprint Car Hall of Famer, Lance Dewease, padded the stat book yet again on Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway in Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, scoring the Doug Esh Tribute against the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 for a $10,000 top prize. The victory, accomplished from the inside of row four, was secured on lap 19, driving by Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri in a drag race to the flagstand.

The win bumps Dewease’s All Star win count to 45 total, ten of which occurring at the famed Williams Grove Speedway. In addition, the triumph increased Dewease’s Williams Grove career total to a whopping 113, simultaneously propelling car owner Don Kreitz Jr. to the all-time winning car owner position at the Mechanicsburg oval.

“Double-D” Danny Dietrich, who pressured Dewease late before a caution on lap 27 cleared slower traffic, charged his way from 11th to finish second in the All Stars’ lone visit to Williams Grove this season, followed by Anthony Macri, Devon Borden, and Kyle Moody.

It was Lance Dewease at the end of the 30-lapper, but Chase Dietz led early, commanding the first ten circuits before losing control in turns three and four on lap 11. Dietz’ spin allowed Anthony Macri to inherit the top spot. That, of course, all changed on lap 19.

“Things are better, but I’m still not sure we have everything figured out yet. We caught some breaks here tonight that helped us out. Little Freddie [Rahmer] may have been the fastest car here tonight,” Dewease stated in Williams Grove Speedway victory lane. “Clean air was helpful. We were really struggling with the lapped cars racing down on the bottom. Not sure we were the fastest tonight, but we’ll take it.

“This win goes to Davey Brown,” Dewease added. “He hasn’t been feeling well so he couldn’t make it here tonight, but I know he’s at home watching it. This one's for him.”


The notorious “Speed Palace,” Port Royal Speedway in Port Royal, Pennsylvania, will round out the All Stars’ Memorial Day weekend swing through the Mid-Atlantic with back-to-back programs on Saturday and Sunday, May 27-28. Celebrating the achievements of legendary Pennsylvania car owner, Bob Weikert, the two-day Bob Weikert Memorial will award a total winner’s share equaling $39,000; $10,000 on Saturday and $29,000 on Sunday. Central Pennsylvania hotshot and Dillsburg native, Anthony Macri, swept the 2022 Bob Weikert Memorial, beating Hall of Famer Lance Dewease to the line on night one, followed by a triumph over Brent Marks on night two.

For those who can not witness the All Star Circuit of Champions live and in person,, the official media partner and broadcast provider of the All Stars, has you covered. To access live and on-demand racing action from the All Star Circuit of Champions, visit and become an annual PRO subscriber. Race fans can see all the USAC and dirt late-model action they want in addition to Eldora Speedway’s slate of races and those of the All Star Circuit of Champions. The subscription unlocks access to premium content across the entire FloSports network. Watch the events across all screens by downloading the FloSports app on iOS, Android, Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire and Chromecast.

Tezos A Feature (30 Laps):

1. 69K-Lance Dewease[7]; 2. 48-Danny Dietrich[11]; 3. 39M-Anthony Macri[4]; 4. 23-Devon Borden[2]; 5. 99M-Kyle Moody[8]; 6. 44-Dylan Norris[5]; 7. 1W-Jim Siegel[12]; 8. 11-Cory Eliason[17]; 9. 26-Zeb Wise[18]; 10. 19-Brent Marks[22]; 11. 67-Justin Whittall[15]; 12. 45-Tim Shaffer[3]; 13. 1X-Chad Trout[13]; 14. 91-Kyle Reinhardt[21]; 15. 8-Freddie Rahmer[10]; 16. 11T-TJ Stutts[14]; 17. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[9]; 18. 30-Lucas Wolfe[20]; 19. 4-Chris Windom[25]; 20. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg[23]; 21. 39T-Cameron Smith[19]; 22. 70-Scotty Thiel[24]; 23. 12-Billy Dietrich[16]; 24. (DNF) 7BC-Tyler Courtney[6]; 25. (DNF) 2D-Chase Dietz[1]; 26. (DNF) 28M-Conner Morrell[27]; 27. (DNF) 35-Austin Bishop[26] LAP LEADERS: Chase Dietz (1-10), Anthony Macri 11-18), Lance Dewease (19-30)

Catch all the latest from the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1:

Photo's: All Star Circuit of Champions | Chad Warner | Williams Grove Speedway


bottom of page