top of page

Martin Truex Jr Wins Federated Auto Parts 400 Salute To First Responders NASCAR Cup Series Race

At the green flag, Truex Jr. jumped the start an was penalized to the rear of the field. 400 laps later, he redeemed himself by being the first to the checkered flag.

“That was frustrating! I’m not going to lie, but I knew we had a good enough car to overcome it,” Truex said about jumping the start and facing an early penalty.

“Just one of those things. You’ve got to put it out of your mind and you’ve got to go race and we knew there was a lot on the line tonight. Very happy to get to do this and to go to Bristol without any worries next week is always fun.”

“It’s a big day. It’s an important day in our history,” Truex said about winning on the 20th anniversary of the Sept. 11, 2001 terrorist attacks. “I think all of us here.......yeah, we’re proud to win, and this car is amazing and there’s so many people to thank.

“But what a day to win on. It reminds you of the honor and the privilege it is to get to come out here and do this. All these great fans that come out here, we couldn’t do any of these kind of things without the men and women that take care of us and all the first responders, police officers, firefighters, the military, you name it.”

Final Results:

  1.    Martin Truex, Jr.

  2.    Denny Hamlin

  3.    Christopher Bell

  4.    Chase Elliott

  5.    Joey Logano

  6.    Kyle Larson

  7.    Ross Chastain

  8.    Kevin Harvick

  9.    Kyle Busch

  10.    Ryan Blaney

  11.    Austin Dillon

  12.    Alex Bowman

  13.    Brad Keselowski

  14.    Aric Almirola

  15.    Tyler Reddick

  16.    Chase Briscoe

  17.    Daniel Suarez

  18.    Matt DiBenedetto

  19.    William Byron

  20.    Ryan Newman

  21.    Erik Jones

  22.    Cole Custer

  23.    Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.

  24.    Chris Buescher

  25.    Ryan Preece

  26.    Anthony Alfredo

  27.    Justin Haley

  28.    Michael McDowell

  29.    Corey LaJoie

  30.    B.J. McLeod

  31.    Garrett Smithley

  32.    Bubba Wallace

  33.    Joey Gase

  34.    J.J. Yeley

  35.    Quin Houff

  36.    Josh Bilicki

  37.    Kurt Busch

Check out the recap by Dustin Long:

Edward Sutelan provides the full time-lapse recap of the race:


bottom of page