top of page

NASCAR Announces Start Times And Networks For 2022 Season, Including 19 On FOX And NBC Respectively

Today NASCAR, FOX Sports and NBC Sports jointly announced 2022 race start times and networks for the NASCAR Cup Series, NASCAR Xfinity Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series seasons.

Nineteen total NASCAR Cup Series races will air on FOX and NBC throughout the season. This marks the first time since 2009 in which more Cup Series points events will air on broadcast than cable. Ten of those will air on FOX, including the DAYTONA 500 (Sunday, Feb. 20, 2:30 p.m. ET) and eight of the next nine points events to start the season. Bristol Dirt will air in primetime (Sunday, April 17, 7 p.m. ET) on Easter, while Talladega (Sunday, April 24, 3 p.m. ET) and the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway (Sunday, May 29, 6 p.m. ET) round out the races airing on broadcast during the FOX portion of the NASCAR Cup Series season.

“Working with the broadcast partners, tracks, teams and industry stakeholders, we will be able to deliver the best racing in the world to an even broader audience in 2022,” said Brian Herbst, NASCAR Senior Vice President of Media and Productions. “Based on data and fan feedback from the past several years, shifting afternoon start times back allows more of our fans — whether at home or at the track — to take in NASCAR racing on Sundays. In addition, airing the most Cup Series races on broadcast in more than a decade is consistent with our strategy of distributing our content to as many fans as possible during key moments in the season.”

The remaining nine broadcast races will air on NBC, one more than 2021, including the kickoff of the NBC Sports portion of the season when the NASCAR Cup Series visits Nashville Superspeedway on Sunday, June 26 at 5 p.m. ET. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course (Sunday, July 31, 2:30 p.m. ET) and regular season-ending tilt at Daytona International Speedway (Saturday, Aug. 27, 7 p.m. ET) will be the other regular-season races airing on the network. Finally, the final six playoff races will air on NBC beginning with Talladega on Oct. 2 at 2 p.m. ET and culminating with the crowning of a champion at Phoenix Raceway on Sunday, Nov. 6 at 3 p.m. ET.

Additionally, five NASCAR Xfinity Series races will air live on broadcast in 2022. FOX will be home to the high-speed action from Talladega Superspeedway (Saturday, Apr. 23, 4 p.m. ET) while NBC will carry the Xfinity Series four times, including three playoff races: the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course (Saturday, July 30, 3:30 p.m. ET), the Charlotte Roval (Saturday, Oct. 8, 3 p.m. ET), Las Vegas Motor Speedway (Saturday, Oct. 15, 3 p.m. ET) and Martinsville Speedway (Saturday, Oct. 29, 3:30 p.m. ET).

As previously announced, USA Network will be the new home for 26 NBC Sports cable races in the NASCAR Cup Series and NASCAR Xfinity Series in 2022. NASCAR will debut on USA, which is available in approximately five million more homes than NBCSN, when the Xfinity Series hits the track at Nashville Superspeedway on Saturday, June 25 at 3:30 p.m. ET. The NASCAR Cup Series will make its USA Network debut on Sunday, July 3, at 3 p.m. ET from Road America.

All 23 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will air on FS1 in 2022, 16 of them in primetime, highlighted by the playoffs opener at new track Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis on Friday, July 29 at 9 p.m. ET and the season finale at Phoenix Raceway on Friday, Nov. 4 at 8 p.m. ET.

Complete times and network schedules for all three national series are below. All times eastern and subject to change.

2022 NASCAR Cup Series Schedule With Television Partner

Thursday, February 17 Duel at Daytona FS1 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, February 20 DAYTONA 500 FOX 2:30 p.m.

Sunday, February 27 Auto Club FOX 3:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 6 Las Vegas FOX 3:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 13 Phoenix FOX 3:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 20 Atlanta FOX 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, March 27 COTA FOX 3:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 3 Richmond FOX 3:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 9 Martinsville FS1 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 17 Bristol Dirt FOX 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, April 24 Talladega FOX 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, May 1 Dover FS1 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, May 8 Darlington FS1 3:30 p.m.

Sunday, May 15 Kansas FS1 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, May 22 All-Star Race (Texas) FS1 8:00 p.m.

Sunday, May 29 Charlotte FOX 6:00 p.m.

Sunday, June 5 WWT Raceway FS1 3:30 p.m.

Sunday, June 12 Sonoma FS1 4:00 p.m.

Sunday, June 26 Nashville Superspeedway NBC 5:00 p.m.

Sunday, July 3 Road America USA 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, July 10 Atlanta USA 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, July 17 New Hampshire USA 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, July 24 Pocono USA 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, July 31 Indianapolis Road Course NBC 2:30 p.m.

Sunday, August 7 Michigan USA 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 14 Richmond USA 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 21 Watkins Glen USA 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 27 Daytona NBC 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 4 Darlington USA 6:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 11 Kansas USA 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, September 17 Bristol USA 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, September 25 Texas USA 3:30 p.m.

Sunday, October 2 Talladega NBC 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 9 Charlotte Roval NBC 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 16 Las Vegas NBC 2:30 p.m.

Sunday, October 23 Homestead-Miami NBC 2:30 p.m.

Sunday, October 30 Martinsville NBC 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, November 6 Phoenix NBC 3:00 p.m.

To see the official NASCAR release including Xfinity & Truck:

See basically the same from Dustin Long at NBC Sports:


bottom of page