top of page

Ty Gibbs Battles JGR Teammate, Wins NASCAR Xfinity Series ToyotaCare 250 At Richmond Raceway

Joe Gibbs Racing had the two most dominant cars for most of Saturdays ToyotaCare 250 at Richmond Raceway. While the racing was clean for most of the day, at the end only on driver could take the checkered flag first.

Ty Gibbs was looking to add his 3rd victory of the young season and John Hunter Nemechek looked to take advantage of being behind the wheel of the #18 Toyota to grab his first in a limited schedule.

The two drivers switched the lead back and forth over the final laps but Ty Gibbs was a little more aggressive of the two eventually using a strategic bump from behind to move to the inside and take the checkered flag, securing his 3rd victory of 2022 in just 7 races.

“I definitely deserve one back,” Ty Gibbs told FS1 after the race. “I deserve it back. We’re racing for wins and they’re hard to come by, and I had to take it. Just got into there deep and had to bump him out of the way up the track. We’re short track racing.”

On the other side of the fence, John Hunter Nemechek had a different opinion. “Him and I will settle it Monday. I don’t want to say too much and get myself in trouble. Just kind of drove through. He didn’t even try to make the corner there. Racers never forget, that’s for sure,” said Nemechek.

Dustin Long at NBC Sports shares a recap:

See the interview when Gibbs got out of the car:

Catch the details at Yahoo Sports:

ToyotaCare 250 Results:

  1. Ty Gibbs

  2. John Hunter Nemechek

  3. Sam Mayer

  4. AJ Allmendinger

  5. Riley Herbst

  6. Daniel Hemric

  7. Josh Berry

  8. Brandon Brown

  9. Ryan Sieg

  10. Parker Retzlaff

  11. Jeb Burton

  12. Anthony Alfredo

  13. Brandon Jones

  14. Justin Allgaier

  15. Landon Cassill

  16. Ryan Preece

  17. Mason Massey

  18. Austin Hill

  19. Alex Labbe

  20. Jeremy Clements

  21. Noah Gragson

  22. Sheldon Creed

  23. David Starr

  24. Rajah Caruth

  25. Brett Moffitt

  26. Derek Griffith

  27. Josh Williams

  28. Kyle Weatherman

  29. Joe Graf Jr

  30. Myatt Snider

  31. Bayley Currey

  32. JJ Yeley

  33. Jade Buford

  34. Joey Gase

  35. Stefan Parsons

  36. Ryan Vargas

  37. Kyle Sieg

  38. Brennan Poole


bottom of page