top of page

Tyler Courtney Pockets $76,000+ At The NARC Sanctioned 50th Annual Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup

From Skagit Speedway

Alger, WA - The richest payout in Skagit Speedway history and one of the biggest ever for West Coast Sprint Cars is heading to Indiana, as Tyler Courtney won the 50th annual Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup presented by The Skagit Casino Resort. The Indianapolis based driver won $50,000 in taking the main event win and $26,000 in laps led bonus cash on top of other contingency monies earned in the NARC sanctioned event.

Courtney and Dominic Scelzi led the 26 car field to the green flag and it was Scelzi jumping out to the early lead from the high side of the raceway. Courtney matched Dominic stride for stride, never letting the defending Dirt Cup champion get too far away from him as the pair raced into heavy traffic. A pair of early yellow flags kept Scelzi in the lead before a long green flag run gave Sunshine a chance to really take his shot at Dominic in slower traffic, and a slidejob in turn two on lap 25 turned out to be the race winning pass, as Courtney would scoot to a lead that he would never relinquish. A planned fuel stop at lap 35 gave teams a chance to put on new tires and make adjustments, and coming out of the break, Courtney was stronger than ever, rolling away to an insurmountable lead in the Works Limited, Finley Farms car that brought home the top prize and huge payday for Courtney, crew chief Paul Silva and car owner Kevin Kozlowski. Kerry Madsen made a late pass of Scelzi stick to take runner up honors in the Roth Enterprises entry, earning $26,000 for second. Scelzi took third but actually out-earned Madsen, pocketing $18,000 for third but buffing his take home pay to $42,000 thanks to his 24 laps led.

Madsen was the 2022 Rookie of the Year at Dirt Cup, while the $2,509 Steve Dyer Skagit Regular award went to Jason Solwold who finished fifth. Joel Myers earned an additional $490 as the Cecil Walker Hard Charger. 360 bonuses were handed out to Tony Gomes and Rutz Racing ($3,700 in memory of Lloyd Armey), Justin Youngquist and Dynes Racing ($2,500 in memory of Big Ed Blanton) and Brett McGhie ($604 honoring hall of famer Butch Gilbert). Courtney won the Dick Wilskey Pole Award, paying him $560. Max Mittry was the B Feature winner.

In the NW Focus Midget division, Travis Jacobson brought home a feature win for Mead Irwin Motorsports by leading all 25 laps of the feature ahead of a close running Tanner Holm in second. Action behind the top two was exciting, with Nick Evans coming in to the final podium spot in the late stages of the main event. Holm won the dash, Brian Rose won the C Main and Gabe Sessler won the B feature.

A Main Results:

Tyler Courtney, Kerry Madsen, Dominic Scelzi, Shane Golobic, Jason Solwold, Corey Day, Trey Starks, Tim Kaeding, Willie Croft, Justin Sanders, Tanner Holmes, Joel Myers Jr, Tanner Carrick, Jonathan Allard, Jesse Schlotfeldt, Greg Hamilton, Zeb Wise, Bud Kaeding, Cory Eliason, Blake Carrick, DJ Netto, Logan Forler, Mitchell Faccinto, Max Mittry, Tony Gomes, Tyler Thompson

See the full story and results:


bottom of page