top of page

Zane Smith Wins NASCAR Camping World Truck Series XPEL 225 At Circuit Of The Americas

From Jenna Fryer / Associated Press /

Zane Smith inherited the Truck Series win at Circuit of the Americas on Saturday when a three-wide move for the lead went awry and Smith sailed past his rivals for the victory in double overtime.

Kyle Busch led a race-high 31 of the 46 laps around the permanent road course and was desperately trying to stretch his fuel to the finish when the race went haywire. Alex Bowman moved from third alongside Stewart Friesen, who tried to defend the pass by diving inside of Busch.

All three trucks were side-by-side as the drivers dove into a turn. Unable to maneuver through, the trucks slid off course and Smith shot past the leaders to take over the top spot.

Smith was able to drive away from the challengers as Busch and Bowman both tried to regain position. He scored his fifth career victory and second through four races this season. Smith also won the season-opening race at Daytona in his Ford for Front Row Motorsports.

“Truck races are crazy, you are never out of it until it's over,” Smith said after collecting the checkered flag. He won all three stages and led 11 total laps.

John Hunter Nemechek finished second in a Toyota, followed by Busch, his boss. Kyle Busch Motorsports driver Chandler Smith was fifth to give KBM three trucks in the top five.

But it wasn't enough for Busch, the winningest driver in Truck Series history.

“Felt like we deserved that win, but it doesn't matter if you deserve it or not. It's all matter of ... you've got to be the first one to the checkered flag in these things,” Busch said. “We just weren't.”

Truck Series champion Ben Rhodes finished fourth. Friesen fell to ninth, while Bowman wound up 25th.

See the full article:

Check out all the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series news:

XPEL 225 Results:

  1. Zane Smith

  2. John Hunter Nemechek

  3. Kyle Busch

  4. Ben Rhodes

  5. Chandler Smith

  6. Christian Eckes

  7. Tyler Ankrum

  8. Carson Hocevar

  9. Stewart Friesen

  10. Grant Enfinger

  11. Lawless Alan

  12. Derek Kraus

  13. Matt Crafton

  14. Kaz Grala

  15. Kris Wright

  16. Chase Purdy

  17. Tanner Gray

  18. Tate Fogleman

  19. Parker Kligerman

  20. Brad Perez

  21. Will Rodgers

  22. Timmy Hill

  23. Spencer Boyd

  24. Colby Howard

  25. Alex Bowman

  26. Taylor Gray

  27. Austin Wayne Self

  28. Logan Bearden

  29. Dean Thompson

  30. Ty Majeski

  31. Matt Dibenedetto

  32. Jack Wood

  33. Matt Jaskol

  34. Hailie Deegan

  35. Blaine Perkins

  36. Sheldon Creed


bottom of page