top of page

AJ Allmendinger Wins Drive For The Cure 250 Presented By Blue Cross Blue Shield Of North Carolina

After Talladega weekend was swept by "first time winners", It was AJ Allmendinger who pulled off the win today winning the Xfinity Series race on the Roval for the third straight year.

Allmendinger saw a nine-second lead evaporate with four laps to go, when Tommy Joe Martins crashed, but the veteran Allmendinger withstood a late restart to reign triumphant in the NASCAR Xfinity Series cutoff race in the Playoffs Round of 12.

“It’s special, for sure, to win this race three years in a row and for it to be Drive for the Cure 250. The celebration, seeing the women in victory lane who’ve survived breast cancer makes it all the more special. For me, what means the most is to be able to represent them and it reminds me that we’re just out here racing cars. What they represent is bigger than racing. Today, I was nervous. We had a good points gap, but Talladega showed that anything can happen. We were deciding whether to go for points or go for the win. Once we decided that, our Hyperice Chevy was so good out front. I’m just pumped up to be able to get another win.”

Allmendinger’s win was his fifth of the season and the 10th of his Xfinity Series career. The Kaulig Racing pilot became the first driver to win the same Charlotte Xfinity Series race in three consecutive years.

Myatt Snider, Jeb Burton, Riley Herbst and Jeremy Clements were eliminated from the Playoffs.

Final Results:

  1.    A.J. Allmendinger

  2.    Austin Cindric

  3.    Daniel Hemric

  4.    Justin Haley

  5.    Brandon Jones

  6.    Noah Gragson

  7.    Preston Pardus

  8.    Myatt Snider

  9.    Justin Allgaier

  10.    Sam Mayer

  11.    Josh Williams

  12.    Jeremy Clements

  13.    Jeb Burton

  14.    Alex Labbe

  15.    Harrison Burton

  16.    Jade Buford

  17.    Landon Cassill

  18.    Austin Hill

  19.    J.J. Yeley

  20.    Jeffrey Earnhardt

  21.    Ty Gibbs

  22.    Brandon Brown

  23.    Kyle Weatherman

  24.    Stefan Parsons

  25.    Sage Karam

  26.    Ty Dillon

  27.    Michael Annett

  28.    Joe Graf, Jr.

  29.    Will Rodgers

  30.    Matt Mills

  31.    Spencer Boyd

  32.    Ryan Sieg

  33.    Tommy Joe Martins

  34.    Riley Herbst

  35.    Loris Hezemans

  36.    Ryan Vargas

  37.    Brett Moffitt

  38.    Josh Bilicki

  39.    Kris Wright

  40.    Gray Gaulding

Check out the recap by Dustin Long at NBC Sports:

The Tribune-Review shares the AP take on the event:

Why not read what Joy Tomlinson has to say:


bottom of page