top of page

Danny Dietrich Sweeps ASCoC Jack Gunn Memorial Twin Features At Williams Grove Speedway

From Tyler Altmeyer /

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. (August 26, 2022) - A night to remember, indeed, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania’s Danny Dietrich performed the unthinkable Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway in Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, and beat the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 not only once, but twice, clean sweeping the annual Jack Gunn Memorial Twin 20’s program for back-to-back $4,000 paydays.

Dietrich, now a four-time All Star winner in 2022 with his first two occurring during Ohio Sprint Speedweek, led all but four circuits of the combined 40-lap Tri-State Summer Swing presented by Elliott’s Custom Trailers and Carts contest, kicking things off with a wire-to-wire effort in the first feature, followed by a quick charge from sixth in the second feature, taking command over Lance Dewease on lap five.

Brent Marks, who finished second in each of the Jack Gunn Memorial showstoppers, did his best to spoil Dietrich’s clean sweep with a final corner move in the second main event, but Dietrich prevailed, driving back underneath the “Myerstown Missile” after Marks attempted a slider entering turn one. Traffic played a pivotal role in Marks’ final lap pursuit, creating a two-wide roadblock in front of “Double-D” that commenced with a handful remaining.

An invert was utilized to set the grid for the second 20-lap feature; Dietrich pulled a six following the first 20-lapper.

“I have a great car and a great team supported by great partners…that makes something like this possible,” said Danny Dietrich, driver of Gary Kauffman’s Weikert’s Livestock, Sandoe’s Fruit Market, Pace Performance, Big Cove Whitetail Trophy Hunts, Drop Of Ink Tattoo, Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC, Self Made Racing, No. 48 sprint car. “Just a great effort by everyone involved. Things got a little dicey there in the closing laps of the second feature, and when I saw Brent get underneath me, I thought ‘oh crap.’ Luckily, I was able to get the car turned back underneath and drive off the corner. It feels good to be back at The Grove. We haven’t been here since we raced with the Outlaws. Hopefully we can turn things around and do it again tomorrow at Lincoln.”

Lincoln Speedway’s annual Kramer Klash, honoring National Sprint Car Hall of Famer Kramer Williamson, will pay $7,300-to-win on Saturday, August 27, followed by a $6,000 showdown at the historic Bedford Fairgrounds on Sunday, August 28.

For those who can not witness the All Star Circuit of Champions live and in person,, the official media partner and broadcast provider of the All Stars, has you covered. To access live and on-demand racing action from the All Star Circuit of Champions, visit and become an annual PRO subscriber. Race fans can see all the USAC and dirt late-model action they want in addition to Eldora Speedway’s slate of races and those of the All Star Circuit of Champions. The subscription unlocks access to premium content across the entire FloSports network. Watch the events across all screens by downloading the FloSports app on iOS, Android, Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire and Chromecast.

A-main (20 Laps) #1

48-Danny Dietrich [1]; 2. 19M-Brent Marks [6]; 3. 69K-Lance Dewease [7]; 4. 13-Justin Peck [5]; 5. 7BC-Tyler Courtney [2]; 6. 17B-Bill Balog [4]; 7. 11-Anthony Macri [13]; 8. 18-Gio Scelzi [10]; 9. 8-Freddie Rahmer [9]; 10. 44-Dylan Norris [3]; 11. 39-Chase Dietz [16]; 12. 19T-Tyler Reeser [11]; 13. 11T-TJ Stutts [12]; 14. 99M-Kyle Moody [15]; 15. 26-Zeb Wise [22]; 16. 19-Chris Windom [8]; 17. 1W-Robbie Kendall [18]; 18. 5W-Lucas Wolfe [14]; 19. 91-Kyle Reinhardt [24]; 20. 4-Cap Henry [20]; 21. 45-Jeff Halligan [23]; 22. 17X-Steve Buckwalter [21]; 23. 35-Austin Bishop [19]; 24. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg [25]; 25. 23-Devon Borden [17] Lap Leaders: Danny Dietrich (1-20)

A-main (20 Laps) #2

48-Danny Dietrich [6]; 2. 19M-Brent Marks [5]; 3. 69K-Lance Dewease [4]; 4. 13-Justin Peck [3]; 5. 17B-Bill Balog [1]; 6. 11-Anthony Macri [7]; 7. 39-Chase Dietz [11]; 8. 18-Gio Scelzi [8]; 9. 26-Zeb Wise [15]; 10. 44-Dylan Norris [10]; 11. 19T-Tyler Reeser [12]; 12. 91-Kyle Reinhardt [19]; 13. 8-Freddie Rahmer [9]; 14. 5W-Lucas Wolfe [18]; 15. 11T-TJ Stutts [13]; 16. 99M-Kyle Moody [14]; 17. 4-Cap Henry [20]; 18. 35-Austin Bishop [23]; 19. 19-Chris Windom [16]; 20. 1W-Robbie Kendall [17]; 21. 17X-Steve Buckwalter [22]; 22. 1x-Chad Trout [24]; 23. 7BC-Tyler Courtney [2]; 24. 45-Jeff Halligan [21] Lap Leaders: Tyler Courtney (1), Lance Dewease (2-4), Danny Dietrich (5-20)

See the full story and results:

Photo: Williams Grove Speedway / ASCoC


bottom of page