top of page

Ferrari's Carlos Sainz Wins The British Grand Prix At Silverstone For First Career Formula 1 Victory

Ferrari's Carlos Sainz has claimed his first Formula 1 victory after a breath-taking contest at the British Grand Prix, the Spaniard finishing ahead of the Red Bull of Sergio Perez and the Mercedes of Lewis Hamilton.

Key to Sainz’s victory was a late Safety Car caused by Esteban Ocon retiring his Alpine – Sainz then attacking team mate Charles Leclerc on fresh tyres at the restart to claim P1 and check out for his first win on his 150th Grand Prix start.

The action was frenetic in the final laps, however, with Perez – who’d dropped to P16 after a pit stop, having had contact at the early race restart following a red-flag stoppage – coming out on top in a thrilling fight with Hamilton and Ferrari's Charles Leclerc to take an unlikely P2.

Hamilton, meanwhile, delighted the crowd with his second straight podium and 13th at Silverstone - an all-time record at a single venue - in P3.

The drama that caused that early red flag came at the original race start, with Alfa Romeo's Zhou Guanyu and Williams' Alex Albon both taken to the medical centre after separate Turn 1 incidents – with Zhou later released, as Albon was transferred to nearby Coventry Hospital for precautionary checks, with those two, plus Mercedes' George Russell, forced into retirement following the incidents.

Leclerc was forced to take P4, having led for large parts of the race, finishing ahead of the Alpine of Fernando Alonso and the McLaren of Lando Norris.

Championship leader Max Verstappen could only take P7, the early race leader having suffered some form of damage that hobbled his Red Bull, the Dutchman holding off the Haas of Mick Schumacher in the final laps, as the German scored his first points in F1 in P8.

Aston Martin's Sebastian Vettel and Haas's Kevin Magnussen rounded out the top 10, with Lance Stroll 11th in the second Aston Martin, ahead of Williams' Nicholas Latifi, McLaren's Daniel Ricciardo and AlphaTauri's Yuki Tsunoda – on what was a red-letter day for Carlos Sainz.

British Grand Prix Results:

  1. Carlos Sainz

  2. Sergio Perez

  3. Lewis Hamilton

  4. Charles Leclerc

  5. Fernando Alonso

  6. Lando Norris

  7. Max Verstappen

  8. Mick Schumacher

  9. Sebastian Vettel

  10. Kevin Magnussen

  11. Lance Stroll

  12. Nicholas Latifi

  13. Daniel Ricciardo

  14. Yuki Tsunoda

  15. Esteban Ocon

  16. Pierre Gasly

  17. Valtteri Bottas

  18. George Russell

  19. Zhou Guanyu

  20. Alexander Albon

See the full story and "As It Happened":

See the official driver page for Carlos Sainz:

See everything from the British Grand Prix:


bottom of page