top of page

Kyle Larson Gets By Buddy Kofoid To Score Second Consecutive ASCoC Silver Cup Triumph At Lernerville

From Tyler Altmeyer | Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1

SARVER, Pa. (July 18, 2023) - Elk Grove, California’s Kyle Larson is certainly no stranger to victory lane with the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1, and that statement certainly proved true yet again on Tuesday night at Lernerville Speedway in Sarver, Pennsylvania, earning a second consecutive Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup triumph for a $25,000 top prize. The former NASCAR Cup Series champion secured his eventual Silver Cup victory from the front row, driving by race-long leader and Roth Motorsports ace, Buddy Kofoid, on lap 19 of 30. The Series win bumps Larson’s career total to 29, two of which accomplished during the 2023 season.

As noted, Larson was forced to battle by Buddy Kofoid for the Lernerville victory, keeping pace with his fellow California native for the first 18 laps before pouncing the following circuit. Larson closed-in on Kofoid’s tail tank by lap 16, racing nose to tail with the Roth Motorsports No. 83JR for the next two laps before utilizing a slingshot move into turn one on lap 19.

From that point forward, it was the Kyle Larson Show at The Action Track, quickly stretching his legs while simultaneously using lapped cars as blockers to keep his distance on the field.

Brent Marks, who started fifth on the grid, would race on to finish second to Larson, followed by Justin Peck, Buddy Kofoid, and Tim Shaffer.

A very late race battle for second would see Brent Marks and Buddy Kofoid exchange positions on multiple occasions including back-to-back sliders on laps 28 and 29. The final lap would see Marks and Peck each sneak by Kofoid.

There were two cautions during the 30-lap contest, one of which on the opening circuit forcing a complete restart; caution lights would return again on lap nine.

“I love coming here,” Kyle Larson, ace of the Folkens Brothers Trucking, FloRacing, Durst, No. 57 sprint car, said. “Buddy [Kofoid] actually got away from me a little more than I would have liked on that last restart. It kinda made me nervous, but I was able to focus on my line and build momentum to close in. Once I got the lead, I was able to move and search around. It was really slick. I think the track actually got better for me as the race went on. Things started to clean off and I was able to really build some momentum.”


The All Stars’ July campaign will continue due west with a three-race schedule through Iowa and Illinois on Friday through Sunday, July 21-23, beginning with a visit to the always-exciting 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa, on Friday, July 21. The $7,000-to-win headliner will be flanked with Spoon River Speedway’s inaugural NOS Energy Drink presents The Rumble on the River on Saturday, July 22, followed by a visit to Red Hill Raceway in Sumner, Illinois, on Sunday, July 23. Each of the stops in the Land of Lincoln, Spoon River and Red Hill, will award $8,000 top prizes.

For those who can not witness the All Star Circuit of Champions live and in person,, the official media partner and broadcast provider of the All Stars, has you covered. To access live and on-demand racing action from the All Star Circuit of Champions, visit and become an annual PRO subscriber. Race fans can see all the USAC and dirt late-model action they want in addition to Eldora Speedway’s slate of races and those of the All Star Circuit of Champions. The subscription unlocks access to premium content across the entire FloSports network. Watch the events across all screens by downloading the FloSports app on iOS, Android, Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire and Chromecast.

Tezos A Feature (30 Laps):

1. 57-Kyle Larson[2]; 2. 19-Brent Marks[5]; 3. 13-Justin Peck[4]; 4. 83JR-Michael Kofoid[1]; 5. 45-Tim Shaffer[3]; 6. 7BC-Anthony Macri[6]; 7. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[8]; 8. 5W-Lucas Wolfe[14]; 9. 11-Cory Eliason[19]; 10. 23-Devon Borden[9]; 11. 2F-AJ Flick[12]; 12. 09-Craig Mintz[18]; 13. 21T-Cole Macedo[11]; 14. 12-Billy Dietrich[20]; 15. 101-Cody Maroske[15]; 16. 29-Sye Lynch[13]; 17. 29S-Dan Shetler[24]; 18. 4-Chris Windom[16]; 19. 26-Zeb Wise[25]; 20. 81-Lee Jacobs[23]; 21. 55-Kerry Madsen[7]; 22. 22-Brandon Spithaler[17]; 23. 9-Kasey Kahne[21]; 24. (DNF) 19P-Trent Pigdon[10]; 25. (DNF) 6S-Ryan Smith[22] LAP LEADERS: Buddy Kofoid (1-18), Kyle Larson (19-30)

2023 All Star Circuit of Champions OWNER Standings (As of 7/18):

Clauson Marshall Racing - 2936

Rudeen Racing - 2850

Vermeer Motorsports - 2782

Lane Racing - 2750

Bryan Grove Racing - 2706

Seeling Motorsports - 2576

Bill McCandless Ford - 2512

D3 Motorsports Group - 2274

Premier Motorsports - 2224

2023 All Star Circuit of Champions DRIVER Standings (As of 7/18):

Tyler Courtney - 2873

Chris Windom - 2750

Zeb Wise - 2740

Tim Shaffer - 2706

J.J. Hickle - 2576

Conner Morrell - 2274

Sye Lynch - 2184

Scotty Thiel - 2114

Brent Marks - 1742

Hunter Schuerenberg - 1592

See the latest from the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1:

Photo's: All Star Circuit of Champions


bottom of page