top of page

Lewis Hamilton Grabs 102nd Career Win At Qatar Grand Prix, Max Verstappen Retains Points Advantage

Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton has closed the gap to title rival Max Verstappen following a dominant victory in the inaugural Qatar Grand Prix at the Losail International Circuit, with Verstappen recovering from a grid drop that saw him start P7 to finish second, as Alpine's Fernando Alonso took the final podium position.

After a clinical start from pole position, Hamilton was able to control the pace at the front of the field with in indomitable lights-to-flag win, his second in a row after Brazil. But while Hamilton was impressive, so too was Verstappen, who was dropped from P2 to seventh on the grid for failing to respect double waved yellow flags in qualifying.

Verstappen shrugged off the disappointment, though, jumping to P4 at the start before quickly making his way up to second, before following Hamilton home to limit the damage to his title lead, which now stands at eight points as Verstappen claimed the fastest lap bonus point.

Meanwhile, there was joy down at Alpine as Alonso returned to the podium for the first time since the 2014 Hungarian Grand Prix, the Spaniard having executed an aggressive drive to survive late-race pressure from Red Bull’s Sergio Perez to take third.

Perez’s fourth place was a decent recovery considering he’d started P11, while he finished ahead of the Alpine of Esteban Ocon, with Lance Stroll taking P6 for Aston Martin.

The Ferrari pair of Carlos Sainz and Charles Leclerc were P7 and P8. Lando Norris took P9 after a late stop for the McLaren driver, as Sebastian Vettel took the final points-paying position for P10 – with Pierre Gasly failing to make a two-stop strategy work, dropping from P2 on the grid to P11, allowing Alpine to move clear of AlphaTauri in P5 in the standings.

Meanwhile, it was a day to forget for Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas, who took his own grid drop, dropping from P3 to P6, before falling to 11th at the start and then suffering mid-race tyre issues – as did Williams’ George Russell and Nicholas Latifi – before Mercedes retired him.

So, with just two races to go now, it’s Hamilton within touching distance of Verstappen in the drivers’ fight. Roll on Saudi Arabia.

Final Results:

  1. Lewis Hamilton

  2. Max Verstappen

  3. Fernando Alonso

  4. Sergio Perez

  5. Esteban Ocon

  6. Lance Stroll

  7. Carlos Sainz

  8. Charles Leclerc

  9. Lando Norris

  10. Sebastian Vettel

  11. Pierre Gasly

  12. Daniel Ricciardo

  13. Yuki Tsunoda

  14. Kimi Räikkönen

  15. Antonio Giovinazzi

  16. Mick Schumacher

  17. George Russell

  18. Nikita Mazepin

  19. Nicholas Latifi

  20. Valtteri Bottas

See the full story from

Mark Mann-Bryans shares from the Independent:

Reuters has a recap:


bottom of page