top of page

Surprise Winner In Talladega As Tate Fogleman Edges Tyler Hill For Chevrolet Silverado 250 Victory

Tate Fogleman won his first career NASCAR Camping World Truck Series victory in overtime on Saturday afternoon in the "Round of 8" playoff race at Talladega Superspeedway.

While John Hunter Nemechek took the lead in the final corner, Fogleman was able to catch him in the tri-oval to attempt a bump and pass on Nemechek coming to the checkered flag. Nemechek pulled down to block Fogleman but was unable to protect the spot and ended up getting turned.

Fogleman and Tyler Hill continued to beat and bang accross the finish line and eventually both wrecked with Fogleman taking a hard hit to the inside wall.

After a quick ambulance ride to the infield care center, Fogleman was able to join his Young's Motorsports teammates in victory lane to celebrate!

“We’ve never finished a superspeedway race before so I really didn’t know what to do," Fogleman said. “I’ve tried laying back in other races and it never worked. So, we figured we’d stay aggressive, try to stay toward the front.”

“I knew I just had to push as hard as I could,” Fogleman added. “I got the push from behind and stayed aggressive. I knew nobody was going to give me any room. I did all I could pushing and luckily the seas parted and luckily we came away with the win."

Final Results:

  1. Tate Fogleman

  2. Tyler Hill

  3. Todd Gilliland

  4. John Hunter Nemechek

  5. Ryan Truex

  6. Cory Roper

  7. Spencer Boyd

  8. Danny Bohn

  9. Chase Purdy

  10. Keith McGee

  11. Jordan Anderson

  12. Sheldon Creed

  13. Ben Rhodes

  14. Matt Crafton

  15. Bret Holmes

  16. Codie Rohrbaugh

  17. Norm Benning

  18. Willie Allen

  19. Chandler Smith

  20. Derek Kraus

  21. Grant Enfinger

  22. Stewart Friesen

  23. Clay Greenfield

  24. Hailie Deegan

  25. Carson Hocevar

  26. Dylan Lupton

  27. Jason White

  28. Tyler Ankrum

  29. Austin Wayne Self

  30. Johnny Sauter

  31. Jennifer Jo Cobb

  32. Austin Hill

  33. Zane Smith

  34. Tanner Gray

  35. Drew Dollar

  36. Kris Wright

  37. Parker Kligerman

  38. Lawless Alan

  39. Bryan Dauzat

  40. Jack Wood

NBC Sports shares Dustin Long's take on the event:

Check out the recap by Trenton Worsham at FrontStretch:

Jenna Fryer from the AP adds her take:

bottom of page