top of page

Zane Smith Wins United Rentals 200 At Martinsville Speedway, Moves To Championship Race In Phoenix

With heading into today's race in Martinsville, Zane Smith had only one option to advance, Win. Smith was running three-wide with Todd Gilliland and Stewart Friesen for the lead when Friesen made contact with Gilliland and spun Gilliland as the field took the white flag in overtime. Smith pulled ahead in Turn 1 as Friesen spun into the wall, bringing out the caution. Since the field had taken the white flag, the caution ended the race.

“It was definitely wild to say the least,” Smith said about the win. “I knew with me being third, I was in a really good spot. Speed-wise, I don’t think we had anything for the 38, I think he had fresher tires than us. I was worried with it staying green. For the final restart, I had the 16 behind me and kind of got him upset at the start of the race and I got flipped off on Lap 2.”

“I am looking for a job right now. I have nothing,” Smith said in Victory Lane. “It’s a good day. When you’re in a must-win, it’s kind of in your favor, just because of how aggressive you can be.”

Zane Smith, Ben Rhodes, Matt Crafton and John Hunter Nemechek will duel in the desert in the Championship 4. The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will decide their championship next weekend in Phoenix.


  1. Zane Smith

  2. Austin Hill

  3. Chandler Smith

  4. Parker Kligerman

  5. Matt Crafton

  6. Ben Rhodes

  7. Taylor Gray

  8. Tanner Gray

  9. Sheldon Creed

  10. Corey Heim

  11. Timmy Hill

  12. Carson Hocevar

  13. Kris Wright

  14. Danny Bohn

  15. Spencer Boyd

  16. Chris Hacker

  17. Stewart Friesen

  18. Tate Fogleman

  19. Hailie Deegan

  20. Austin Wayne Self

  21. Grant Enfinger

  22. Bret Holmes

  23. Dawson Cram

  24. Derek Kraus

  25. Todd Gilliland

  26. Tyler Ankrum

  27. Jack Wood

  28. Josh Berry

  29. Spencer Davis

  30. Jesse Iwuji

  31. Johnny Sauter

  32. Sage Karam

  33. Ryan Truex

  34. Josh Reaume

  35. Roger Reuse

  36. Jennifer Jo Cobb

  37. Cory Roper

  38. Colby Howard

  39. John Hunter Nemechek

  40. Chase Purdy

Dustin Long has the full recap from NBC Sports:

Check it out from Speedway Digest:


bottom of page